Music

Standard

I went to Oklahoma State for my first two years of college (In-law  graduated from OSU and Big spent a semester there as well, Go Pokes!). I loved pretty much everything about it (except that it wasn’t home and I had to study, boo).  I really loved the music. Stillwater claims to be ‘the originally home of Red Dirt music.’  But, Red Dirt isn’t the only type of music coming from Stillwater. OSU is where a ton of bands/singers have got their start. The All-American Rejects, Garth Brooks and Cross Canadian Ragweed are just a few that started their long trek to fame in fortune in Stillwater, Oklahoma.  

I know that Big, In-Law and I all have very different tastes in music so I thought it might be fun for each of us to take turns posting songs or artist that we’re loving right now. I’ll go first! 🙂

I’m kind of obsessed with The Band Perry right now. They are composed of two brothers and their sister. I love the way their music sounds. My husband says they sound ‘high school,’ but I have fond memories of high school so I don’t care.

My favorite song: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCwLsXZnFl4

Another group I’m loving is Pistol Annies. My cousin actually introduced me to them and I couldn’t get enough. They only have their single out right now, but the entire album release next week. They remind me of the Dixie Chicks in the late 90s early 2000s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IriEmm4ilfI

Leave a Reply

